I see death in its eyes
Slowly creeping along the outline of his iris

Seeping in and tinging the yellow-white with mellow pink 

I see death 

Calm and calculated

He does not stir 

Leaving me to find myself through the rapidly darkening redness

My steps are miscalculated unlike his nature

I can’t see anymore

But I can feel him

I feel death

I feel his spindly arms grabbing fistful of emptiness behind me

I can smell him

I can hear his short gasps and intakes of breath

Is it breath?

It may be life in another form

That’s a different story

He’s reaching out for me

Is this a parley?

I can see him now

Acrid blackness against a sheet of reddening wine

The blackness seems to blend into the red

But my eyes trace his blackness of no form out

I can taste him by now

The bitter smoke endlessly and invisibly wrapping its loving hands around me

I’m suffocating

The carbon soaked emptiness stealing my breath

I’m in love!

I saw death

I felt death

I smelt death

I heard death

I saw Him

I felt Him

I smelt Him

I heard Him

.

.

.

.

Nothing!

Then there was nothing!

Soon his own darkness unfurled

Swallowing him whole 

Then I heard voices from my world

…my world…

And just like that he was gone but I forgot to ask for my heart back